Herberton is 75 km west of Innisfail, 60 km south-west of Cairns and just 18 km from Atherton situated on the Wild River.
Herberton is the oldest town on the Atherton Tablelands and its entire precinct is listed on the National Heritage Register.
Historic Village Herberton is an astounding collection of Australiana in an historic hamlet of more than 50 buildings on the edge of the Herberton township. Spanning two centuries, the dwellings, vehicles, memorabilia and antiques which fill this cultural asset have been meticulously resurrected and inventively displayed. Among many treasures in this vintage village are a fully restored 1926 rail ambulance and a genuine pioneer’s slab hut built in 1870. The original Herberton State School from 1881 is a perfect place to take the children and show them the pews and slates yesteryear’s pupils made do with.
The Herberton Mining Museum and Information Centre occupies the site of the first big tin discovery in Australia, the Great Northern Mine. The centre has themed areas telling the fascinating story of Herberton’s mining history and the town’s development. There are mineral collections on display plus a small theatre for multi-media displays. Exhibits are being added regularly, and the young – and not so young – can try their hand at tin panning. The centre is also the starting point for The Great Northern Walking Trails, a series of self-guided walks of various lengths and challenges.
The Herberton-Petford road leads to heritage-listed Irvinebank, the tin mining town that refused to die. Established in 1882, it boasts many century old buildings such as the home of the town’s founder John Moffat, said to be the oldest Queenslander in the State. A courthouse and cellblock, the 1901 School of Arts Hall, Tramway Station, the Queensland National Bank Building, Mango Cottage and the 1907 Post Office building all attest to the architecture of prosperity at the turn of last century. The Mighty Vulcan mine became the mainstay of the town, yielding the purest available tin in the world displayed at the 1907 London World Expo.
Visitors can also see the Mill and Treatment Works on the foreshore of Loudoun Weir and visit the renowned Loudoun House Museum in John Moffat’s house. Pioneer graves can be matched with local history at the museum.